Founded 1926

Co. Limerick

Ahane Senior Hurlers : Thrilling Win in County Cup Final

Img 4833 5b1 5d

Want to manage your club's membership online this year? We've seen revenue increase by 30%.

See More

The Ahane Senior Hurlers finished the season in fine fashion at the Gaelic Grounds on Saturday when they won a thrilling Senior Hurling County Cup Final over South Liberties on a scoreline of 1-24 to 1-17.  It wasn’t as easy as the final scoreline suggests as South Liberties were fastest out of the blocks and raced into a 1-05 to 0-4 lead as they found space in behind the Ahane half back line.  Ahane battled back into the game and it was level on 3 occasions with 7 pointed frees from Tom Morrissey, 3 points from young William Brennan and 1 point from Niall Moran in the 1st half but South Liberties went in at half time leading 1-09 to 0-11.  The 2nd half was a different story as Ahane upped their game and after 40 mins Tom Morrissey got a vital goal to level it again at 1-13 each, Ollie Moran added a point to put Ahane into the lead for the 1st time with 15mins left as Ahane finished the game, outscoring South Liberties 9 pts to 1 to win out handsomely on a scoreline of 1-24 to 1-17.  Tom Morrissey finished with a grand total of 1-11(1-02 from play), William Brennan with 5pts on his 1st Senior Hurling start, Ollie Moran with 5pts, his brother Niall with 2pts and David Laing with the last point of the match.  It was a great finish to our Senior Hurling year and great credit is due to our young Senior Hurling squad and Management team of Colm and Eoghan Hanley, Sean O Connor, Ger Mulcahy, Colm Barry, 1st aid Larry O Connor, physio Paul Murray, S&C Dave Crowley and Team Doctor Blaithnead McCurtain for their huge effort and commitment over the year and to our Main Sponsor - Martin Haugh of Munster Tree Surgeons and all our supporters who followed the team throughout the year.  County Cup Final squad :  Adam O Brien, Jeffrey Enright (Captain), Seamus Harnett, Ciarán Barry, Paul O Halloran, Dan Morrissey, Daniel Minehan, John Meskell, Paddy Morrissey, Ciarán O Mara, Niall Moran, Colum Carroll, Tom Morrissey, Evan Enright, William Brennan, Mark Foley, Killian Enright, Cathal Ryan, Pat Minehan, Mark O Halloran, Tommy Clifford, Aaron Hackett, Mike Hayes, Ollie Moran, Shane Hackett, Mike Fox, Stephen Power, William Shanahan, David Laing (Vice Captain), John Fox.  Well done to the squad and a big thank you to all who roared on the team at the Gaelic Grounds.


Other News

Download Clubify and subscribe for more news.

A048933d 8918 42e8 95e0 f29cd0c48532


Tom Blake Memorial Perpetual Cup 2018 The Tom Blake Memo...

5e454554 c7b3 41f1 8ffe c37fa8c6e018


Members of Ahane GAA that need tickets for Sunday 29th Al...

Dan 20morrissey kk

Limerick Senior Hurlers through to All-Ireland Semi-Final

Limerick Senior Hurlers A magnificent game of hurling in...


Ahane Juniors beat Murroe / Boher

Ahane played Murroe/Boher in round 5 of the championship ...

Ea1f3d8f e39c 46ea 9c66 2b066e8d866d

C-A-M Cancer Support Fundraiser 27th July

The Castleconnell/ Ahane/ Mountpelier Cancer support grou...

F7176423 7e08 42de ba37 0741564c07cf


Any members of Ahane GAA that need tickets for Sundays ga...

Download Clubify

Get live information for Club on the Clubify App

App Store Google Play