Founded 1926

Co. Limerick

U19 County Hurling Championship v Na Piarsaigh Match Report

Download our mobile app to hear more about Ahane.

See More

Ahane travelled to Caherdavin to take on Na Piarsaigh on Tuesday evening in a cracking game of hurling which saw the teams trade scores over the sixty plus minutes of action. Mark Donnellan got Ahane off the mark with points from frees, before the Na Piarsaigh free taker got them off the ground. Ahane put together some great pieces of team play and got some fabulous scores. Ahane got great scores from Mark Donnellan and Peter Donohoe to make the score Ahane 0-04 Na Piarsaigh 0-02 at the water break. Na Piarsaigh hit their purple patch in the second quarter as they got several unanswered scores. They went a point ahead before Ahane got a point from Kevin Morrissey to level up proceedings. From there the ball was over and back like a game of tennis with scores from Ahane’s Mark Hickey. Ahane got an all-important goal in the 28th minute which started with the ball in our defence, Jack Barry drove the ball down the line to John Donohoe who gave the perfect handpass to Gavin Rowsome who made no mistake in absolutely rattling the back of the net. Mark added to the goal with a point from a free. Half time score Ahane 1-07 Na Piarsaigh 0-09. The second half got underway, and Na Piarsaigh were first to score to level the game once more. Na Piarsaigh went two ahead again before Mark got another point from a free. The second half water break had the score at Ahane 1-09 Na Piarsaigh 0-14. Substitute David Carr came on and put in a great performance that saw him get 1-01. Gavin Rowsome was back with his magic tricks on Tuesday again as he flicked the ball into his hands and got a super score. Na Piarsaigh got some more good points, but Ahane’s third goal was enough to keep them in the lead. Ahane’s goal came from Peter Donohoe after he got a great pass in from Mark Donnellan. Full time score Ahane 3-11 Na Piarsaigh 0-18. Ahane are now in a quarter final with a date and time to be confirmed.

Team: W. O’Leary, C. Slattery Wright, A. Carroll, E. O’Leary, J. Barry, M. Hickey, S. O’Grady; K. Morrissey, L. O’Mara; W. McCormack, M. Donnellan, P. Donohoe, J. Donohoe, G. Rowsome, C. O’Connell.

Substitutions: D. Carr (½ time for C. O’Connell), E. Hartigan (2nd ½ for W. McCormack) S. Hassett (2nd ½ for C. Slattery Wright).

Download ClubZap

Get live information for Club on the ClubZap App

App Store Google Play